Boston United Methodist Church

Tulsa’s Art Deco Icon

Lauri Novak
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
4 min readApr 14, 2024

--

The first time I visited Tulsa, Oklahoma it was for work. I had only about four hours to wander around with my camera. What struck me right away was how much Art Deco architecture there was. I had no idea.

What a pleasant surprise.

©Lauri Novak

This past September, my husband and I went on a road trip. We loosely followed Route 66, which goes through Tulsa. It was one of our planned overnight stops because I wanted to take an Art Deco tour.

©Lauri Novak

We took a tour but it wasn’t the tour company I intended to use. Somehow I ended up contacting ‘the other’ tour company in Tulsa. It was still a nice two-hour tour, but it wasn’t exactly tailored to what I had requested.

Twice, I let the person know (they asked) what my intentions were. I told them I was a photographer and wanted to photograph mostly Art Deco architecture during the tour. Twice, they mentioned the tunnels and other things I had no interest in.

--

--

Lauri Novak
SNAPSHOTS

Award-winning fine art photographer, mentor, and author. An eye for architecture. Galleries/Tours/Mentoring: https://laurinovak.com