Details of the bright colours © A. Harrison

Buddha’s Birthday

Anne Harrison
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
Feb 21, 2022

--

The temple was bedecked with lanterns for Buddha’s birthday (a date which varies with the lunar calendar, and also between countries).

A string of lanterns © A.Harrison

The colours stood out against the trees covered in leaves and the browns of the ancient temple. Rows and rows of lanterns, in all colours many with prayers attached.

I wonder if they are at all like my Christmas decorations, destined to delight visitors for a few months long after Buddha’s birthday has passed?

Happy Birthday Buddha! © A. Harrison

If you enjoy my writing, please visit my blog Wise Beings Read Here, where (if you feel like contributing to my coffers) you can also buy my photos and ebooks. Thank you!

--

--

Anne Harrison
SNAPSHOTS

At 10 I discovered travel, books and philosophy. Now I pass my days with a camera in one hand, a notebook in the other, looking for the perfect coffee.