Chicago Cultural Center

A Chicago Landmark opened in 1897

Lauri Novak
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readDec 29, 2023

--

This is one spot I always include in my photo tours. Take a stroll through the building with me and you’ll see why.

It was originally the first central public library in Chicago. Now, it is home to the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs. It has rotating art exhibits, presentations and performances for the public to see and learn about the arts.

©Lauri Novak

This is one of the entrances. It is so detailed and intricate and the tilework is stunning.

©Lauri Novak

It was designed by the same architectural firm that designed the Art Institute for the 1983 World’s Columbian Exposition. When reading about it to write this I learned that the outer walls are three feet thick! Maybe I will pay more attention when I’m on a tour next time.

©Lauri Novak

--

--

Lauri Novak
SNAPSHOTS

Award-winning fine art photographer, mentor, and author. An eye for architecture. Galleries/Tours/Mentoring: https://laurinovak.com