“Corn Tassel” by J. Dean ©

Corn Tassels

The arrival of the tassels means that fresh, sweet corn is on the way

John Dean
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2021

--

Since mid-May, I have been monitoring the growth of several cornfields just outside our town. Every week or so, I pull my car over, get out, and photograph the plants. I plan to do a photo essay later this year, probably in October, depicting the entire season.

So far, the project is progressing nicely.

“Corn Plants” by J. Dean ©

By the third week of May, the corn had sprouted. I doubted whether it would be “as high as an elephant’s eye” by the Fourth of July.

When I returned two weeks later, the growth was remarkable.

“Corn Rising” by J. Dean ©

Because the corn was growing faster than I expected, I did a little research. I learned that corn plants go from planting to harvest in 65–90 days, depending on the variety, weather, soil conditions, and other factors.

Because we have had a lot of rain this season, the cornstalks appeared to gain an inch or so in height daily.

--

--

John Dean
SNAPSHOTS

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.