Ducks by the lake
Image by B.R. Shenoy

INSPIRATION/PHOTOGRAPHY/ADVICE

Duck Heaven

Surrounded by my feathered friends, I am in my happy place

SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2021

--

“Make others comfortable and you will see that Nature will take care of your comfort.” — Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

We are fortunate to have numerous parks with duck ponds within close proximity to our house.

Many of our neighbors even have ducks in their yards.

The day this picture was taken, an unusually large number of ducks were out.

I could not resist snapping their photos. I could spend hours observing and hanging out with these feathered creatures.

During the pandemic shutdowns, we had extra time on our hands. My daughter and I thought it might be fun to feed the waterfowl at the lakes nearby.

We performed a quick google search before deciding what to feed them.

Here are the best foods for waterfowl.

  • Fruits: Strawberries, blueberries, and watermelon
  • Vegetables: Cucumbers, peas, broccoli, and corn
  • Grains: Cooked pasta, brown rice, and oats

--

--

SNAPSHOTS

Avid Globetrotter• Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•https://brshenoy.substack.com•M.S. Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2