Swoon. But that bitch Tink really should have been a redhead! I mean that in the nicest way…

Eclectomania

These are a few of my favorite things (or a bit of silliness)

Published in
3 min readJun 12, 2018

--

Yeah, it’s a Dooney & Bourke, but I’m really not a designer kinda gal or even a purse person. What I am? A pathetic, juvenile Disneyphile. Make fun of me if you want, but WDW is truly is a marketer’s wet dream and the most magical place on earth! So I lusted after this stupid purse for the longest time, but really couldn’t justify the price. Then I won some money while at a conference in Orlando…surely it was fate! No regrets.

Yup, the art in my house is…interesting.

Did you ever read a book called Wonder Boys, by Michael Chabon? It was based on a professor of his, who happened to be my advisor in grad school (and who, oh yeah, gave me this clock when I got married). My advisor was a flawed human being, as we all are, but also kind, compassionate, brilliant and just generally wonderful — he didn’t deserve that portrayal. I hear they eventually made their peace, but I won’t read the book. If you hurt me, I’ll forgive you; if you hurt someone I love, you’re gone. I do adore my clock so much.

My eldest, my youngest, and Dogs, dogs, dogs! We have the world’s most expensive dog bed. Fortunately our third dog is too old to climb, but I think it’s clear which of us rules our house.

Ahhh, the pièce de ré·sis·tance

No, emphatically not a Pandora bracelet. The beads are somewhat interchangeable, but Troll Beads is an older company based in Denmark that is quirkier (as some *might* argue I am). When I had cancer, my sister got me the starter chain and the “plus sign” (top middle) symbolizing positivity, and then the “three siblings” bead. I now have a lucky dragon, fairies, trolls, a love goat, a griffin, the ugly duckling, snails in love…quite a few more than shown here. And yup, that bitch Tink (she’s the only Pandora bead — I had no choice!). Sounds silly, but it symbolizes all sorts of weird stuff that is meaningful to me and it’s frequently on my wrist in some combination or another.

--

--

Looking for the Kind in Humankind. Heart currently Code Blue.