Yellow wagtail on a colza field. All photos by the author

Flowers, Birds, And Candles

Snapshots Summer Photo Challenge: Yellow

Serhii Onkov
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2023

--

It would be banal to illustrate the summer challenge with photos of yellow autumn leaves. I’ll try to abstract from it and use mainly pictures of warm seasons. Birds or flowers or both of them like on the frame above. I consider it one of the best of all my life.

Even simple dandelions are suitable for decorating any landscape.

Univ Lavra, Ukraine

Sunflowers are just mandatory for this case. And a bee immersed in pollen as a bonus.

Yellow is also one of two colors on the flag of my country 🇺🇦. Sick bastards try to destroy it, but in vain.

Wheat field in colors of the Ukrainian flag

We used to consider the sun yellow too, but does it really have such a color? It is white in the daytime and red during sunrise or sunset. I could catch it with this special color only at special moments.

Foggy sunrise in my city

While night, the men-made suns replace the real one. Warm and cozy lamps of city illumination look like all is seemingly well, even in dark times.

Central Park of Lutsk, Ukraine

Some cities are yellow constantly. For example, if they are built of sandstone, like in Malta…

Victoria City on Gozo Island, Malta

Or they are surrounded by deserts, like in Iran.

Skyline of Meybod, Iran

Ah, deserts are wonderfully yellow as well.

Varzaneh desert, Iran

The candles of our lives burn yellow flames. And I’m concerned about how quickly they burn down.

Rural wooden church, Ukraine

If you don’t want to miss out on my new stories, you can subscribe to updates on my blog. If you appreciate my photos or tellings, you can buy me a coffee.

While you’re reading this text, Ukrainian people are dying from Russian attacks. You can support Ukraine defenders and save lives no matter where in the world you are.

--

--