A pair of swans in the nearby lake [All the photographs are owned by the author. Not to be used without permission]

Get Ready for a Perfect Swan-Song

This is, by no means, a final foray

Vickey Maverick.
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2024

--

I live by the lakeside. I am in love with the lakeside. There are also a lot of lakes nearby, as I am fortunate to be living in what can be called a city of lakes. In fact, for anyone living in Europe, a little house by the lakeside is one of the many perks that can easily be availed.

Besides, I also happen to be an avid birdwatcher. It is a pleasant sight to see birds either flying over the water or gliding in the water.

Photo by Vickey Maverick.

Heading to the nearby lakes to feed avian friends, where it is allowed, of course, ensures a good feeling. Everyone loves feeding birds. I am no different. That being said, on every occasion I start to feed a bird, many appear from nowhere and start claiming their share.

Does every bird that comes visiting get a share of the pie…err, the bread? Well, not quite. It is a matter of time before the situation gets out of hand, I want to quickly get the job done and move one. That being said, there’s a sense of relief when the number of birds is limited. One is more often than not sure that there is enough for everyone. Even as other birds see me feed, they come in…

--

--

Vickey Maverick.
SNAPSHOTS

Ditch the Niche: Focused on providing insightful narratives on diverse topics like culture, health, history, slice of life, sports, travel, work, and on writing