Hibiscuses in Maui. Shot with an iPhone 14 Pro Max. Photo ©Erika Burkhalter

Photography, Travel

Hawaiian Hibiscus and the New iPhone 14 Pro Max

Testing out my new iPhone 14 Pro Max on one of my favorite flowers

SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readNov 15, 2022

--

While the iPhone will never shoot quite as good of a photo as my Nikon Z9 or my Nikon Z7II, each generation of phones gets closer and closer. I just upgraded to the iPhone 14 Pro Max, which has been getting rave reviews. And I have done some testing out of its camera on recent trips to Sedona, Arizona and, last week, in Maui.

While the hibiscus is not a native Hawaiian plant, they are ubiquitous in local gardens and resorts. They float softly in the gentle breezes, their paper-skin petals fluttering. And their stamen explode from a long stem into a curling mass of pollen-studded antennae tipped with fuzzy red balls.

It’s that long stem that makes the hibiscus a bit hard to photograph because the flower does not sit “all on one plane.” With a DSLR, you can control the depth of field. And you actually can do that on an iPhone too, but I doubt that very many people (including me) actually do. It’s meant to be more of a “point-and-shoot,” which means that the phone picks the depth of field (the f-stop).

So, I was impressed that the phone was able to capture the detail from the petals to the tip of the stamen in the next…

--

--

Erika Burkhalter
SNAPSHOTS

Photographer, yogi, cat-mom, lover of travel and nature, spreading amazement for Mother Earth, one photo, poem or story at a time. (MA Yoga, MS Neuropsychology)