Frog Photo by J. Dean ©

My Mailbox Frogs

John Dean
SNAPSHOTS
1 min readJul 8, 2021

--

A family of frogs lives in the drainage ditch by my mailbox. If we’ve had rain, they come out to forage for food. In warm weather, they stay safely out of the sun in a storm pipe.

These frogs are sensitive to noise and danger. If they hear or see anyone or anything, they disappear fast.

One of the frogs was out and about this morning when I went to get the morning paper. I had a camera with me to photograph some nearby flowers. Surprisingly, when the frog saw me, she did not immediately return to her storm pipe.

The frog waited patiently while I took her picture. I thanked her, got my newspaper, and returned to the house.

Other photography articles by J. Dean:

--

--

John Dean
SNAPSHOTS

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.