(All photos by author)

I look forward to this on every plane journey!

The Magic of the In-Flight View

Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2023

--

One of the aspects of flying that I adore the most is the opportunity it offers to gaze upon the ever-changing artwork in the sky.

The sky is a storyteller, and each flight is a new chapter in the tale of its beauty.

I love the early morning or evening flights, where the sky transforms into a canvas of breathtaking hues. From the warm oranges and pinks of sunrise to the serene blues and deep purples of sunset

After every journey, my gallery is filled with pictures of the skies.

The cotton candy sky

Original Hues- (unfiltered)

The hues of purple and pink underwent a mesmerizing transformation within just a few short minutes. It really felt as though we were gliding through a massive cotton candy ball, the colors shifting and blending seamlessly.

Transition from sunset to darkness

The way the sky changes from sunset to darkness is truly special. Sunsets on flights are amazing. I love all the kinds of sunsets, but the ones from up in the air are something else.

Original Hues- (unfiltered)

The shift from yellow-orange and pink skies to one with a tinge of darkness is incredible, along with a sheet of white-greyish clouds. It’s that moment when you’re in between—not quite day and not quite night.

Fluffy ones

These were some of my favorite ones taken on a journey to northeast India. The clouds were in various shapes and patterns, some like icebergs and cotton balls. It’s indeed a reminder of the beauty that surrounds us.

The River and sunset

Somewhere above Kerala, India

These sunsets were seen when I flew from Kochi International Airport. I had never seen Kerala from such a perspective before, other than in pictures. It was a beautiful view that still lives in my memory.

The views from the sky indeed offer a unique perspective of the world below.

Watching the sky always instills a sense of gratitude in me. I can’t help but think of the incredible design, and I’m thankful to the creator for crafting such a masterpiece and making our world truly extraordinary.

--

--

A doc on a journey revamping her writing skills.