IT’S ALWAYS ABOUT MEMORIES

My Favorite Things Mini Challenge

Dennett
SNAPSHOTS

--

Left rear: A bouquet of sharpened pencils. In the movie You’ve Got Mail, which has a history with my husband and me (another story I will post this week), Tom Hanks is emailing Meg Ryan, a woman he met in a chatroom, and he says:

“Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

Knowing that was may favorite quote of the movie, my ex-sister-in-law made us this bouquet of sharpened pencils for our anniversary one year.

Center rear: The fairy castle that my childhood neighbor, a man in his 70’s at the time, painted for me.

Right rear: The laughing Buddha my husband bought for me several years ago. This statue always helps me feel better when I am down.

Left front: The ashes of Pooh, our sixteen-year-old dog who passed about two months ago.

Center middle: A bowl of rocks. I have a collection of semi-precious stones. When my grandchildren were much younger, they could not understand the difference between my stones and ordinary rocks. They collected rocks on every walk we took. At one time, I had bowls and boxes of rocks all around my house. When they stopped collecting them, I narrowed down my collection to these. I look at these rocks and remember when they were so young and innocent. Each rock was a special gift.

Center front: One visit to Mount Dora, our favorite getaway place in Florida, a few years ago, my grandson was five and my granddaughter, three. My granddaughter found this little doll under the bed in our rental cottage. She immediately named her “Icky Rainbow” — I have no idea why but when she outgrew Icky Rainbow, I saved her for the memories I knew I would need some day.

Right front: My Tibetan singing bowl that brings peace to my hectic existence.

And, this is the first painting my husband every bought for me. It was painted by our friend Fred Woods, who uses the artist name of Rootman. I love the painting, and I love my husband for surprising me with the purchase.

--

--

Dennett
SNAPSHOTS

I was always a writer but lived in a bookkeeper’s body before I found Medium and broke free — well, almost. Working to work less and write more.