Photo taken by Mia Verita in her backyard

Latest Addition to the Dove Family

Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue

--

I’m excited to share my first submission to SNAPSHOTS and to be a part of the challenge, “Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue.”

I’ve bird watched for several years, and I’ve done my part to promote a healthy environment for them to thrive in my backyard. One of my favorite writing spots is near the kitchen window, where I can observe the birds in their daily activities. I never tire of photographing them! They make my yard their temporary home, raise their young, and temporarily move a bit further south during Winter.

Something Old

Two old doves made their nest in my backyard for several months last Spring.

Something Borrowed

They usually use the awning of my house or surrounding trees to make their home. However, last Spring they borrowed our bird feeder holder, allowing them to make a larger nest.

Something New

One day upon checking on the doves, I found a new addition to their family!

Something Blue

I enjoyed watching them grow, and learning their habits. Now they’ve flown away and I’m blue because I miss them. He takes one last look and says ‘See ya next Spring!’

Photo taken by Mia Verita

Thank you for reading and for the opportunity to share my photos and be a part of this unique and inspiring publication!

--

--