Abandoned on Gene Autry Drive, Palm Springs, CA, by Mark Tulin

My Shopping Cart Photo Collection

Giving a voice to the abandoned shopping cart

Mark Tulin
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2022

--

“Can somebody please give me a hand? I’m stuck and don’t want to get hit by a car. Excuse me, ma’am, my left front wheel doesn’t turn, and I can’t muster enough strength to get up this incline. I can take it from there if you push me to the sidewalk.”

Photo by the author, Mark Tulin

This get-together looks like a coffee klatch of shopping carts. A group of retired gentlemen are shooting the bull and having their morning brew. “Sam, what did you think of the Dodger’s loss last night?” “I don’t know, Charley. It looked like the manager screwed up. He shouldn’t have pulled Kershaw in the fifth inning.”

There’s no room for the fancy carts in this group, just a bunch of old codgers with arthritic wheels and one guy with a lot of baggage from the past.

“Yo, Reds. Can you pass me that can of WD-40? I’m feelin’ a little rusty this morning.”

Santa Barbara carts, by Mark Tulin.

--

--

Mark Tulin
SNAPSHOTS

I escaped a therapy career to follow a dream. Poetry/Humor/Sexuality/Doodler/Storyteller — https://crowonthewire.com