Shruthi Sundaram: Evening Sky (21/8/2021)

PHOTO-A-DAY-CHALLENGE

Night And Day

My second week of continuously taking photos every day

Shruthi Sundaram
Published in
4 min readAug 30, 2021

--

Nightlife in my city has always fascinated me. I have constantly felt that the darkness has a beauty that can equally compete with the wonderfulness of the day.

From the rays of the moon hitting our planet to the lights throughout the city, from the myriad of smells that come from the street food stalls to the peace and calm of the night…everything seems to be 10X more powerful after 6 to 7 pm in India (sunset time).

It’s beautiful. It’s dark. It’s wonderful. It’s calming.

Shruthi Sundaram: (22/08/2021) — The day before the full moon

Every day in the past week, I have been trying to soak up the evening sky. Absorb the transition from the day to the night. Observe the transformation of colors from the sun to the moon.

And what an incredible experience has it been!

Shruthi Sundaram: (23/8/2021) — Full moon

I had never focused on the phases of the moon, but this week, I got to witness the full moon in all its glory. I was present throughout the week on the terrace basking in the glow of this powerful entity, feeling wonderful!

Shruthi Sundaram: (24/08/2021)

Every night, I was only focusing on the moon. This week, we witnessed the full moon in our country (I say my country because I don’t know how this works in the other parts of the world). And what a moon it was!

But one day, I noticed the other side of the sky and ended up catching this wonderful shade of street light some houses away from us. I know I haven’t captured the street light properly, but the shade was such a beautiful yellow that I could not stop posting it here.

Shruthi Sundaram: (25/8/2021)

In India, streets light up with genuinely stunning yellow colors after dark. And most of them light up at the same time. Growing up, I had become so used to the fact that I never bothered to marvel at the phenomenon. But this week, I got to do it.

And for that, I’ll eternally be grateful.

Shruthi Sundaram: (26/8/2021)

This week also saw me going on walks at night. Since I got a break from office work, I could go out in the evening; otherwise, I usually work from 2 to 11 pm — which never allows me to get out during the sunset times.

The empty streets, the calm winds, and the warm yellow glow of the light truly calmed me down.

Shruthi Sundaram: (27/08/2021)

In India, streets light up with genuinely stunning yellow colors after dark. And most of them light up at the same time. Growing up, I had become so used to the fact that I never bothered to marvel at the phenomenon. But this week, I got to do it.

And for that, I’ll eternally be grateful.

It’s exciting to be a part of this beautiful community of photographers, some attuned to nature as much as me. So thank you, everyone, for welcoming me with open arms.

Erika Burkhalter/ Eileen Vorbach Collins/ Sasha Meyer / Tracy Aston / Lisa Bolin / Juan O. Aguilera/ David Wade Chambers/ Mia Verita/ Susan Alison/ LensAfield/ Barbara Radisavljevic/ Diana Lotti/ Barb Dalton/ Kim Zuch/ Sandra B/ Ellie Jacobson/ Dennett/ Anne Bonfert

I invite Aaditya Rajagopalan, and Venkataraman Mahalingamto join this incredible challenge:)

For more travel tips, inspiring stories, photo essays, and travel adventures subscribe to my newsletter. And you can check out my fantastic photography skills here :)

--

--

Shruthi Sundaram
SNAPSHOTS

I help employees transition into their mission-driven, passionate coaching biz & scale up to high-ticket clients. Book a free call: http://shruthisundaram.com