Ben Nevis, Scotland

Outlander

A Hike in the Scottish Highlands

Published in
2 min readJun 11, 2018

--

The Outlander saga, written by Diana Gabaldon, is a series of 8 books, each about 1000 pages. I read all 8 in 10 days. I called off work and didn’t leave my bed except for necessities (coffee, whiskey, sushi delivery).

Whiskey Tasting in Edinburgh

When I finished book #8 and realized #9 was not yet written, I decided to go to Scotland. The Great Glen Way is a hike that mirrors one of the Outlander adventures.

Somewhere south of Fort William, Scotland
Guesthouse in Edinburgh. Why can’t I use a French press without adult supervision?
Loch Ness. Yes, I saw the waterhorse.
Following the signs in Fort Augustus, Scotland
So, I’m at this party in Bathgate, and Susan Boyle shows up. She’s feisty.
Outlander actors Scott Kyle and Stephen Walters show up too. Nice lads! They bought me a wee dram.
Castle. Scotland. That’s all I got. Did I mention the whiskey?

--

--

Author of Breakfast with Alligators: Tales of Traveling After 50, available now on Amazon | Tweet @KayBolden | Contact: kaybolden.xyz