This and all other photographs by author Luciano Abriata.

Peek into upcoming stories in my favorite wild corner of Switzerland

Flora, fauna, geology, traditions and history in Lac de Taney, in the heights of the Alps in Canton Valais

LucianoSphere (Luciano Abriata, PhD)
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2022

--

I just spent the weekend in what I think is my favorite place in Switzerland: The Taney region in the French-speaking part of the bilingual (German-French) canton of Valais (or Wallis in German). The Taney region is a corner of the Alps centered around a small lovely altitude lake called Lac de Taney, set in-between huge steep peaks, thick forests, water streams coming straight from melting snows, and a stunning variety of flora and fauna. The region hosts several hiking and rock-climbing paths that take you to over 2000 m near the border with France gifting you with “bird views” of Lac Leman, the country’s largest lake.

Over the next days/weeks I will post several stories I collected during this weekend, across friend publications like SNAPSHOTS, Weeds & Wildflowers, Gardening, Birding and Outdoor Adventure, Tea with mother nature, Globetrotters, etc.

Here, I let you 10 pictures representative of what you’ll see, each with nothing but a title. Stay tuned!

Lac de Taney

--

--

LucianoSphere (Luciano Abriata, PhD)

https://www.lucianoabriata.com | Scientific writing, technology integrator, programming, biotech, bioinformatics.| Have a job for me? Contact me in ES FR EN IT