May 2018

Purple Reminders

in a place that feels like home

Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2018

--

I’m having a hard time getting my head around it, but next month will mark one year since David Montgomery and I put an offer in on our home. For me, it was the first major real estate investment I had made. I remember one of the things that sealed it for us was the lilac bush at the top of the driveway. It was in full bloom when we came to view the house and the smell was intoxicating.

June 2017

Until today I hadn't really thought about that bush too much. Between David’s not overly smooth retirement, Mr. Moles getting sick, and being over my head in a busy research project, plus settling in and adjusting to the pace of life in a small town, it has been a full, turbulent year. Leaving to pick up some groceries in early evening, I snapped the pic you see above. Shouldn’t be long now until the lilacs are in full bloom. A year and a lot of stress later, we’re looking forward to enjoying the view and the scent in a place that’s finally starting to feel like home.

June 2017

--

--

Educator, HIV researcher, former flight paramedic, MFA, poetry, creative non fiction, memoir, intersectional social justice, satire, dogs. https://allanrae.com