Sticky Toffee Pudding with hardsauce. Photo by Louise Peacock

Rock the Crock for New Years’ Eve

Sticky Toffee Pudding

Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Here I go with the Crockpot again!

For New Years’ Eve dinner, I wanted to make a dessert that was appropriate for the time of the year.

This Christmas I never got around to making a Christmas plum pudding, nor a fruitcake, so this recipe I have for Sticky Toffee Pudding seemed like an excellent substitute. (Who could resist anything with the word Toffee in the name?)

Sticky Toffee Pudding right out of the Crockpot. Photo by Louise Peacock

The Crockpot is ideally suited for puddings and other confections that would normally need a long cooking time at a moderate temperature. This one turned out beautifully moist.

The hardsauce has been made, and is on the side in a non-stick pot. As called for in the recipe, I poured some of the sauce over the still warm pudding. Photo by Louise Peacock
First serving is cut, and on the plate! Photo by Louise Peacock
Sticky Toffee Pudding, ready to consume. Photo by Louise Peacock

At the request of our friend, The Solitary Cook, I am including the recipe I used below. I see I previously misquoted the name, it is actually Apple Sticky Toffee Pudding:

  1. I substituted 3/4 cup of hot coffee for tea, because I only have ground, not instant.

2. I used 1/2 cup of Kefir instead of evaporated milk

3. In the sauce, I used 1/2 cup of Lyle’s Golden Syrup and 1/2 cup of Sinfit syrup instead of 1 cup of Corn syrup — 1) because I do not use corn syrup, and 2) the Sinfit to reduce the sugar content.

4. Of course, I used the Crockpot instead of a regular oven. but I used the special bake liner tin seen below

--

--

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.