Image is of Hotel New York in Rotterdam, at Kop van Zuid. It was taken on a gloomy December day.
Hotel New York, Kop van Zuid, Rotterdam, Netherlands — © Marie A. Rebelle

PHOTOGRAPHY

Rotterdam, My Beautiful Rotterdam

🦋 Marie A. Rebelle
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Every morning before Covid struck, I drove to work on the highway around the north side of Rotterdam, crossing the Van Brienenoord Bridge. Now I do it only on Mondays, but just like back then, as I cross the bridge, I look towards the city.

Rotterdam!

On dark, misty mornings, there is no city. On summer mornings, the high-rise buildings and the Erasmus Bridge invite you to come closer. On clear winter mornings, the lights of the same buildings make me wonder just what happens there, whether citizens are getting ready to go to work, or travelers are looking out the window, seeing the city come to life.

Sometimes there’s a rainbow in the sky, hugging the beauty of the bricks forming Rotterdam; other times the rain hides some of the city’s truths.

As much as I love seeing the city when I cross the bridge, I love it even more to go to the city, to be in it.

My most favorite part of it is Kop van Zuid, a place where we would love to live, but it’s impossibly expensive. There are hotels (one of which we stayed in when we were married for ten years)…

--

--

🦋 Marie A. Rebelle
SNAPSHOTS

🦋 Writer of raw, open, honest fact & fiction - always about life. | Owner: Serial Stories & The Patient's Voice | Editor: Tantalizing Tales 🦋