Seagull on a window ledge.
Photo of seagull in Fishguard by Susan Alison

Seagulls Rule!

Or else!

Susan Alison
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2021

--

This seagull was outside my window in a hotel in Fishguard (South West Wales) where I was staying to teach a drawing and painting course.

I knew him by repute. He terrorises the guests to the extent that, despite it being sweltering I dared not open my window because he’s quite likely to fly in, snatch anything I might be trying to stuff down my neck, and fly out again. It’s terrifying!

The way he’s adapted to the human invasion of his space, though, means that I’d rather keep my window closed in a heatwave than have him driven off.

I have, however, learned to be very careful about where I eat anything. If outside, for example, (by the seaside) I eat nothing!

Painting of a corgi dog eating chips watched by a seagull.
Painting titled: ‘My chips! MINE!!!’ by Susan Alison

Seagulls are very smart. For example, they get together and stamp their feet in unison to imitate rainfall. This makes earthworms come to the surface, and … Dinner’s up!

They pair for life and make great parents, taking turns to incubate the eggs, and then protecting and feeding their young.

Most animals can’t drink both salt and fresh water, but apparently seagulls can! They have a pair of glands above their eyes for the purpose…

--

--

Susan Alison
SNAPSHOTS

Paints pictures & writes stories for a living. Dogs appear in the art, & the humour — a lot! (Dogs have much to say about life.) Can be found at SusanAlison.com