Oct. 28, 2023. All photos by author.

Silver Falls State Park

Seven miles of trail, ten waterfalls

SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readOct 29, 2023

--

A couple of the things I looked forward to most about moving to the Pacific Northwest were the beautiful nature and having “real seasons,” unlike my native Los Angeles.

Luckily, my new university has an active outdoor recreation program that organized a trip to Silver Falls State Park, considered the “‘crown jewel’ of the Oregon State Parks system.” I like Portland, but I was excited to get out of the city for a day.

As for the seasons, I’ve been getting excited seeing indications of autumn: orange or red trees, or leaves on the ground, so imagine my excitement at numerous leaves steadily floating down to the river beneath:

Watching the leaves felt like witnessing a first snowfall.

I don’t do well with fall’s lower temperatures, however. A cold spell fell over the region on Wednesday, seeming even more frigid in the moss-covered temperate rainforest:

The blockage of sun from the numerous trees didn’t help, either; I shivered through my many layers. Still, if I had…

--

--

Kayla Vokolek
SNAPSHOTS

Pursuing MFA in Nonfiction Writing at Portland State