photo by ted_ozawa

Snapshots — Jan.12, 2024

Photographs taken during a short walk in Saitama, Japan.

Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2024

--

I had some good light in a festive January shrine, so I took a few photos. In the lead photo, a couple is looking to buy an arrow or a rake. The arrows will strike bad luck and the rakes gather good fortune.

photo by ted_ozawa

The shrine has a large selection of amulets, too. Academic achievement, business success, peace at home, safe baby delivery, and so on. They have wooden plaques with a dragon (it’s the year of the dragon btw), on which you can write your wish.

photo by ted_ozawa

The New Year started very badly here in Japan with the Noto earthquake and the airplane collision in Haneda. I feel helpless in the face of something out of my control… I just feel fortunate here in Saitama where things are relatively quiet. I wish you all good for the New Year.

--

--

Photographs of my daily life, based in Saitama, Japan. Run a family business. Studied and worked in U.S.(NE,OR,NY) 1991–2001.