Sun melting the snow from Daffodils ~ photo Bruce Walker

Snow Joke

Rare late-April snowfall in Southern Ontario

Published in
Apr 22, 2021

--

We often get a brief snowfall in April here, but rarely this late in the month. As soon as I got up this morning I thought there might be some snow on flower opportunities, so I got my camera ready with the Squeezerlens to see what I could uncover.

Early in the morning all I could see out the window was flattened daffodils buried under a few inches of snow, but as the morning progressed and the snow began to melt, flowers emerged and picture possibilities bloomed — so to speak.

Daffodil ~ photo Bruce Walker
Fritillaria ~ photo Bruce Walker
Tulip bud ~ photo Bruce Walker
Echinacea seed heads ~ photo Bruce Walker
Cotoneaster (L) ~ Forsythia (R) ~ photos Bruce Walker

Shot with the Pentax 645Z medium format camera. Lens is a hand-built Squeezerlens from Germany. It’s a tilt lens using a fixed aperture Leitz Hektor 1:2.5/120mm enlarger optic. Here I used it mounted on a 645 extension tube to allow closer focusing for macro work.

--

--

Photographer, recovering bourgeois, coffee lover & multidisciplinary geek. Photo-genre best described as “Erratica”. Social: linktr.ee/bruce.walker