Summer Nights (Wella Wella Wella)

Summer is…

SNAPSHOTS
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2018

--

Just beyond Sullivan’s Lighthouse, a boat ride is a way to forget about deadlines and expectations for a little while and navigate your way through summer.

The start of summer is easily identified by a boiling pot of crawfish. May starts the season for these delectable seafood creatures and my summer is incomplete without them. Mudbug Madness taps into my Cajun roots; it’s the only food you can eat for three hours. Trash bag covered collapsible tables, rolls of paper towels, ice cold beer to your right, and someone you’ve never met on your left, cracking and smacking. My heart hurts when I can’t partake in such an event.

I don’t know if the beach is an accurate portrayal of what summer means to me because I frequent the beach even in icy conditions. Not to mention, the influx of tourists is enough to reduce my visits every 5 days to every 7 (drastic drop, I know;).

A snowball from Hansen’s is enough to make you melt… you know, as long as Nola’s humidity doesn’t get you first. Hoping and pleading that summer isn’t devoured as quickly as this cornucopia of flavors was.

--

--