Trá na mBó beach. Photo credit: author.

The Copper Coast

A short stretch of Ireland’s stunning coastline

Ance Bogdanova-Jatniece
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2021

--

It was more than four years ago, but I remember it like it was yesterday. I was sitting on a bench next to my husband on the coast of Northern Ireland, eating prepackaged pasta salad while trying to keep my windblown hair out of my mouth, and watching how occasional rays of sunlight play in the Atlantic Ocean, making the water change colors from blue-gray to turquoise.

It was our first trip to Ireland, and on that very spot, I admitted to myself that I would rather spend my holidays exploring the harsh beauty of this rugged coast and towering cliffs than lie on a stunning tropical beach with a coconut drink in one hand and a book in the other.

As life would have it, after a few years we ended up in Ireland, and my wish came true. Since then, most of our free time has been spent enjoying coastal road trips, and I have been hypnotized by all the peninsulas, cliffs, sea stacks, and beaches along the way. This coast has turned me into an explorer, not only of nature but also of myself. It has urged me to discover and map the outline of my craggy soul, slowly smoothing the edges with each tide and white-capped wave and refining it with every gust of the Atlantic wind.

The Copper Coast in the South of Ireland is a short 17-kilometer-stretch but it offers a surprising amount of picturesque diversity. Although it’s not a part of the famous Wild Atlantic Way, the scenery is splendid and deserves to be celebrated.

Bunmahon beach and a kid playing in a tidal pool behind the rocks. Photo credit: author.
Trá na mBó (Strand of the Cows) with its solemn solitary stack. Photo credit: author.
Remnants of the copper mining activity from the 19th century and a blue-green tint of oxidized copper. Photo credit: author.
Tiny water droplets are blown in from the ocean, shrouding the village of Annestown in a barely visible mist. Photo credit: author.
Coastal cliffs and blooming dwarf gorse. Photo credit: author.
The Copper Coast is a UNESCO Global Geopark showcasing the interaction between geological and cultural heritage of the place. These cliffs are a composition of 460 million-year-old rocks that were formed by explosive underwater volcanic eruptions. Photo credit: author.

--

--

Ance Bogdanova-Jatniece
SNAPSHOTS

Ex-scientist redefining myself in words, nature, and travel.