The Laurent House — Frank Lloyd Wright

A unique FLW property

Lauri Novak
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readOct 19, 2023

--

Living in Illinois allows me to be close to several Frank Lloyd Wright properties. This one is in Rockford, IL which is only about a 45-minute drive for me.

It is the only building ever designed by Wright for someone with a disability. It is a single-story Usonian home and is unique in many ways.

©Lauri Novak

This curved area is a solar hemicycle. I had never heard that term used before. The Solar Hemicycle homes are semi-circular in nature to take advantage of the sun’s differing heights at different times of the year.

There are still several of these Usonian homes around. I hope to tour more of them.

©Lauri Novak

Another of Wright’s famous design features is what I call Inside-Out and Outside-In. You always feel nature whether you are inside or outside one of his designs.

I like to incorporate that feeling in my images when I can.

--

--

Lauri Novak
SNAPSHOTS

Award-winning fine art photographer, mentor, and author. An eye for architecture. Galleries/Tours/Mentoring: https://laurinovak.com