Convention Center, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Tropical Color in Black & White 2

More shades of grey

--

I recently shared a selection of photos here on Snapshots from my collection Tropical Color in Black and White. In it, I explain the genesis of the project, which basically was my attempt to capture the brilliance of nature stripped of color. (You can access that post here.)

As an older person (I’m 80), when I began my interest in photography as a boy and launched my first darkroom, black and white was the only choice I had. It was no sacrifice. I enjoyed working in B&W for many years, both taking photos and making prints. I believe it helped me prepare for my eventual work as a magazine editor and photographer. It taught me to concentrate on the effects of light and shadow, to look beyond the dazzle of color, to perceive patterns and textures, and concentrate on composition.

Good photographs don’t only depend on a competent photographer, but also on finding the right setting. I am fortunate to live in Puerto Rico, a place surrounded by history and natural beauty.

Not everything is palm trees, beach and Spanish colonial buildings, as my night capture of the musical fountains in front of the very modern Puerto Rico Convention Center can attest. Here are some more of my favorites to share with you, while we all wait for a vaccine and hope for the return of a reasonably normal…

--

--

Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle
SNAPSHOTS

An aged humanist hanging on to the idea that there is hope for humankind against most current indications. Slightly older than my photo. A happy octagenarian!