Wildlife

Well, That Solves the Mystery of the Sunflower Heads on the Deck!

Squirrels are tricky little buggers

Jean Crawford Evans πŸ§™β€β™€οΈ
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
2 min readAug 30, 2023

--

A gray and brown squirrel sitting on a sunflower in a sunflower patch eating a sunflower seed and peeking past sunflower leaves and branches towards the camera.
An Eastern Gray Squirrel enjoying breakfast (photo by author)

I was out this morning hoping to film a small thunderstorm heading our way. Of course, as soon as it got here, it fizzled out and only spit a little bit of rain.

Out of the corner of my eye, I thought I saw a big brown leaf on one of my sunflowers, then I realized it was a squirrel having breakfast!

A super zoomed photo of a squirrel on top of a sunflower behind other sunflowers in a garden.
photo by author

I zoomed in as best as I could with my phone camera. I can take pictures while I am filming, which is quite handy.

Since he looked like he was going to stay a while, I popped back into the house to grab my Canon SX50 HS camera and was able to get better pictures.

As with the goldfinches, he was on the other side of most of the sunflowers, so getting any decent photos was a challenge.

I got a lot of great photos of sunflower branches like this one:

--

--