Enchanted Rock is a pink granite mountain in Fredericksburg, Texas

What weighs you down?

5 FROM A SERIES OF 10 LIFE HACKS FOR THE NEW YEAR

Tasneem Kagalwalla
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2020

--

Are you carrying around the weight of mountains?

Too often, when painful things happen, we continue to hold onto the weight of the experience for years after. We’re meant to learn from bad experiences, to journey past adversity, but we consciously or unconsciously, keep carrying the load of these memories with us.

It’s overwhelming and exhausting.

Then, even everyday struggles can feel immovable because we’re already so weighed down, that anything else is just the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

The truth is, it’s ok to let go.

“These mountains that you are carrying, you were only supposed to climb.”

― Najwa Zebian

I wish there was a scientifically proven method, some theory or formula that could be used to “let go of the past.” Yet by experience, I can vouch that symbolic actions or action metaphors help to do just that.

As we hiked up the Summit Trail of the Enchanted Rock at Fredericksburg, TX, I made a decision.

Yikes, all the weight I unconsciously carry!

A decision to let go of all my guilt, pain, hurt, the what if’s, the if only’s and all the sadness that it brought with it. With every step I took, I paused…

Pause and Reflect

I reflected on what was weighing me down. What can I learn from it?

When I got on top, I decided to let go. Literally, dusted my shoulders off and gave voice to the wind.

I screamed out loud, “I let go!”

I wanted to start a new ascent.

“I let go!”

So today I chose to climb a mountain.

You may also like:

© 2020, T. Kagalwalla. All Rights Reserved.
For more follow me @Tasneem Kagalwalla on FB, Twitter and Instagram.

--

--

Tasneem Kagalwalla
SNAPSHOTS

Life Strategist. Trainer. Speaker. Author ~ you are everything you choose to be ~ www.tasneemkagalwalla.com