This and all other photos of this story were shot by the author Luciano Abriata.

Wildflowers at almost 3000 m.a.s.l. in the Argentinian Andes

On a recent hike around the mountains in the Argentinian province of Mendoza, where the summit of the Andes sits (mt. Aconcagua), I discovered abundant flowers growing along a stream of fresh (and delicious) water. Let me here share with you my best shots.

LucianoSphere (Luciano Abriata, PhD)
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readJan 3, 2022

--

This has been a very wet year for this region. As I will show you in a story dedicated to the hike on which I took these and other photos, all rivers were full of water. Delicious, fresh, life-supporting water. The spring and summer thus witnessed abundant blooming this year, as the locals explain.

Let me here share with you selected shots of beautiful flowers, and stay tuned for the great hike behind these photoshoots up to a waterfall falling from almost 3000 m.

This one is a rather ordinary rosehip, but I like how the “veins” of the petals came out in darker pink:

--

--

LucianoSphere (Luciano Abriata, PhD)
SNAPSHOTS

https://www.lucianoabriata.com | Scientific writing, technology integrator, programming, biotech, bioinformatics.| Have a job for me? Contact me in ES FR EN IT