At the visitor center, photo by author.

Zion National Park is a World unto Itself

Photo opportunities abound to satisfy everyone.

Dunelair
Published in
May 15, 2024

--

I have not counted the number of times I have visited Zion. I love Yosemite, but I love Zion more. Perhaps that is because it is such a wonderland of color, compared to Yosemite’s gray granite cliffs.

I love the cottonwood foliage against the towering red cliffs, and in May, those leaves are an amazing bright green unlike any other.

Herein is a selection of my snapshots from a recent visit to the park.

Path off the riverwalk to the Virgin River, photo by author.
Virgin River, photo by author.
Trailside flowers, photo by author.
View from riverside trail, photo by author.
Perfect place for a picnic in front of Zion Lodge, photo by author.
Leaving the park to the east, photo by author.
View from road, climbing to the tunnel, photo by author.
The road ascends via several switchbacks, photo by author.
View down into a side canyon, photo by author.

--

--

Dunelair

: Friend, reader, and photographer with eclectic interests. Loves living on California's central coast. Born and raised in West Virginia.