100 days on snapchat taught me this

BJ Murphy
All Things Snap
Published in
4 min readApr 6, 2016

Have you ever said something to inspire others, but failed to take your own advice?

Two years ago after my re-election I gave a speech entitled “Forward in Prosperity”, which reflected on our city’s motto. On December 2nd, 2013 I said these words:

I challenge us all to be more involved in the lives of our young people. Make it a habit to attend a middle school basketball game, start or support an afterschool program and be involved in the lives of our youth. Learn what Snap Chat is or figure out what Twitter does, because this is where our kids are today. To help them grow and appreciate Kinston, we need to understand them better.

Notice that I wrote “Snap Chat”, which showed my own disconnect, but also notice that I DID NOTHING on Snapchat for two years! Not. Even. A. Username.

Late last year, I began to rethink my purpose as a leader and influencer. Who can I help while in this public role? How can I inspire the next generation?

Then I stumbled upon Gary Vaynerchuk, probably in a targeted FB post. Yes, he’s got a little potty mouth, but his content is king. I learned much about branding and the true meaning of entrepreneurship. His #AskGaryVee youtube channel is chock full of inspiration.

There, in the midst of figuring out my true purpose as an elected leader, did I live up to those words from two years ago:

Yep, that’s me. A 35 year old mayor on Snapchat. And I love it!

These first 100 days (I signed up in mid December as bjmurphy360) have been a whirlwind of fun. True, most of the users are young, but that is changing very rapidly.

Here are a few things I’ve learned:

  • Snapchat is closer to real life social media than any other platform. You can post 10 second videos or pictures over a 24 hour period where your followers get a close look at your daily routine…instead of just a picture or a paragraph.
  • My 4 year old communicates with her former boyfriend via his father and me. (Oh yeah, we’ve got our hands full).
  • My family communicates more quickly via video when we’re not together. We’ve chosen dinner plans, checked in with each other, and sent silly faces on multiple occasions.
  • Politicians are finally catching on. Hey, if the next generation is on Snapchat, so should they. Not long after I joined did the White House create their account. Want to see behind the scenes? Want to watch the presidential candidates in debate prep or hanging out with their families? Yep, they are all on there.
  • News agencies are finally catching on too. Guess they figure it helps them keep up with the politicians, lol. What I love about Twitter is the first hand view of the reporters as they’re working on stories. But on Snapchat? How about a first person point of view of what the reporters are actually seeing!?
  • Friends love to goof off with all the fun filters and short video clips. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed connecting in an entirely new way with some old and new friends.
  • Business is being conducted. Really? Business? Yep. I have a very successful friend, @CoachCRod - Cesar Rodriguez, who is pouring out incredible business tips to all his followers. Another colleague of mine is using Snapchat to share sales goals updates to his team. Recently he took a 10 second video of him marking out sales numbers on a white board and sent that to his whole team. Talk about INSTANT motivation!
  • You should be on Snapchat too! And you will be before we swear in the next President of the United States. And how cool will it be to be virtually sitting behind the Chief Justice as he swears in the next POTUS. Only you won’t have to go through security, overpriced hotels or traffic…several people (and news media) will give you a first hand view right on your phone!

I may be two years late on my promise, but Snapchat is here to stay for a long while. Come join the fun!

BJ Murphy was the youngest mayor ever elected in Kinston, NC at the age of 29. He’s now serving his hometown of 21,000 in his second term. He’s happily married to his high school sweetheart, Jessica, and they have two daughters, Gracyn (7) and Kathryn (4). To learn more, visit www.bjmurphy360.com and www.bjmurphy.org.

--

--

BJ Murphy
All Things Snap

Social Media Entrepreneur. Former Mayor of Kinston, NC. http://www.magicmilemedia.com Snapchat/Twitter/Insta/FB @bjmurphy360