5 Tools You Need to CRUSH it on Snapchat

Stephen Hoops
All Things Snap
Published in
7 min readJan 22, 2016
Credit: Flickr

Congratulations!

You’re more than likely part of the growing number of people who “get” Snapchat. 2016 has seen a large influx of users flocking to Snapchat as some social media pros have deemed it to be the next “big” thing.

(For the record, I loved it from day 1).

If there’s one thing you may have noticed, it’s that some people are adding snaps to their story every single day. Which begs the question — are their stories interesting enough to post so regularly?

And in turn — are yours?

But maybe you’re just getting into Snapchat. You want to dive in and start making stories right away.

But if you know most of the basics and other tricks, you’ll no doubt want to get better at your Snapchat game. The types of stories you want to tell will ultimately come down to what’s unique about you and always paying attention to how other folks are telling their stories.

Beyond that, there are a couple tools I’ve picked up along the way that have really helped me improve my stories and mix things up.

Here are 5 tools you can use to help and improve your experience on Snapchat.

1. Jackery Giant External Battery Pack & Charger

Absolutely critical.

If you have a smart phone and haven’t discovered the beauty of an external charger, you’re seriously missing out. Any one will do, but this one I picked up from Jackery is relatively cheap without sacrificing value.

If you’re like me and you’re always living on the edge because you didn’t charge your phone the night before, you’ve probably felt my pain. One frustrating thing I’ve encountered when snapping throughout the course of a day is that Snapchat can quickly kill off your device’s battery. So coupled with my inconsistent charging, my phone has died more than once mid-snap.

Eventually, I learned my lesson. My external charger is able to store enough energy to charge my iPhone 6+ from empty to full and do it again 2 more times. And sure, maybe you’re not seeing the same battery drain on your device, this is still something worth picking up.

2. A Stylus You Like

Don’t be afraid to doodle!

It’s a great way to add a bit of color or creativity to your snaps. In fact, there are some amazing users who have made doodling on snaps an art form. Here are some you should be following RIGHT NOW:

You might be thinking, “DEAR GOD, I AM NO ARTIST.”

That’s OK. A stylus that you like is going to make doodling a lot less of a harrowing experience. I prefer fine tips just because a lot of the bargain bin styluses just seem to be too fat for me to know where I’m drawing.

For the record, these things cost way too much money. And if you’re an Andoid owner and your device already comes with a stylus, you’re already ahead of the curve. (GET DOODLIN’)

3. A Selfie Stick

Oh. I’m DEAD serious.

If I haven’t lost you up until this point, please stay with me.

Trust me, I was just like you.

When the selfie stick first came out, I looked at it as the epitome of everything wrong with our self-obsessed culture. Walking around Manhattan and watching tourists look ridiculous brought more than a few chuckles.

One day I strolled into a TJ Maxx with my girlfriend whilst visiting a friend in Washington, D.C. And in the checkout line, I had noticed that some upstanding citizen ripped a selfie stick from its packaging.

I decided to give a whirl.

Extended all the way, taking video and a few pictures, it finally clicked. Pictures taken with the selfie stick were just better.

Remember the days before high quality camera phones when we had to ask strangers on the street to take your picture and hand them your camera?

(Ewww human interaction, right?)

Jokes aside, the front-facing camera has undoubtedly changed the digital camera market for regular consumers. Mostly, we rely on taking personal pictures ourselves.

I’m calling for an end to the selfie stick stigma.

The only downsides from a Snapchat perspective is that taking vertical snaps can feel a bit awkward and I’ve yet to find one that can take video within the app. There are workarounds to this, but feel free to share your tips!

4. Attachable Lenses

There are some seriously nice lenses out there for smartphones. Don’t get me wrong, most phones have fantastic cameras.

But there are 2 things to keep in mind:

  1. No matter how hard you try, the app will always compress your images to some degree.
  2. Despite advances, zoom functions on most phone cameras still have a ways to go.

Considering these facts, attachable lenses can enhance your device’s camera to squeeze out a bit more. I prefer the “fish eye” just because it adds a bit more of interesting look and it reminds me of my middle school days when I watch skateboarding videos constantly. I first gave this a shot when I saw Brian Fanzo @iSocialFanz use a fish eye lens during his story at CES a few weeks back.

Even if you’re not sure about the application of external lenses for Snapchat, they’re still worth considering if you’re heavily involved on Instagram.

5. Field Notes Expedition Memo Book

Excuse me while I gush like a little girl meeting 1D.

I. Freaking. Love. These. Notebooks.

Small enough to fit in your pocket, these little suckers are tough. The pages are made of Yupo synthetic paper and feel like butter to write on. Not only that, but the synthetic pages means this thing is waterproof. So if you’re even in the market for a general notebook to carry every day, this is a solid choice.

If you’re more of the digital type, then my recommendation is to always have your notepad app open as often as Snapchat is.

For me, my digital organization is terrible and writing with pen and paper just works better. And because I rarely choose when inspiration strikes, I always have a memo book handy.

Two things I’m using it for with Snapchat:

  1. Writing Down Story Ideas — I’m a big fan of telling stories around a specific theme or “plot.” These are either individual snaps, or I’m actually doing a rough storyboard to plan out my story.
  2. Jotting Down Views & Followers — As the number of followers start to grow, Snapchat’s lack of analytics can make it hard to judge how well you’re doing. So everyday, I write down how many new followers I have, how many of those new followers I need to thank for connecting, and how many total views I’m getting for my stories. It’s time intensive, but I’m a HUGE believer in testing and analyzing data. These may be hand written numbers, but I feel it’s better than nothing and just guessing.

BONUS TOOL

The Slinger App (iOS, Android)

For regular readers of Snapchat Strategy, you may already know that Slinger is a favorite among Snapchat creators.

Stories on Snapchat don’t live forever, but Slinger fixes that. Designed specifically as a way for creators to store their vertical videos, this is a perfect place to upload your meticulously created stories instead of squirreling them away, never to see the light of day again.

To learn more about Slinger and why Snapchatters should be using it, Shaun Ayala wrote a great piece a couple weeks back.

Do you really NEED these tools?

Nope.

BUT…

There are plenty of Snapchat creators who are doing great things with just their phones and imagination.

Even if you only try out one of these tools, these are some of the best to help take better snaps or improve how you approach your storytelling.

Thanks for reading! Are there any tools you love to use for Snapchat?

Also, are we friends on Snapchat? Follow me (stephen.hoops) in case you’re a creator and you’re looking to collaborate :)

--

--

Stephen Hoops
All Things Snap

I write about lots of things. Writer by day, voracious record collector by night.