New Snapchat Geofilters in Edmonton

Chris Mikulin
All Things Snap
Published in
3 min readJul 10, 2015

--

One of the things that makes Snapchat so fun is geofilters. Geofilters are special overlays for Snaps that can only be accessed in specific locations. After you take a Snap you can activate these filters by swiping either right or left, and depending on where you are located different geofilters will be available to use.

What I really like about geofilters is that they’re like Pokemon cards, “gotta catch them all!” Which is probably another reason why Snapchat is so popular with teens. Did you know that over 64% of teen mobile users in Canada are on Snapchat?

Now when I visit new cities I make a point to explore them in search of what geofilters are available. I think I have a problem. San Francisco has some really amazing geofilters, and Calgary has quite a few popping up. I’m happy to say that Edmonton is finally catching on.

This week 5 brand new Snapchat geofilters were just released in Edmonton and were created by designer, Mike Lundy. I’m not sure if I want to spoil where they are, because I don’t want to ruin the excitement of finding a new filter for you. But I can’t help myself, they’re just so good! So here’s 4 of them! The 5th that is missing is on Whyte Ave, it’s the red one that looks kind of like an old car dealership sign.

It only took about 2 weeks for these filters to get approved, so not too bad. Here’s some info on creating your own geofilters for Snapchat, but before you start make sure you go over their submission guidelines, they’re pretty particular.

You can also create geofilters for specific events, which is a perfect option for large outdoor concerts. Plus Snapchat is currently beta testing sponsored geofilters with a few of their brand partners. I can’t wait for this feature to be released!

Have you seen any other geofilters in Edmonton? Which one is your favourite? Send me your Snaps at: caribousocial.

If you’re ever not sure if Snapchat is the right fit for your brand, please feel free to get in touch with me anytime!

-Chris

--

--

Chris Mikulin
All Things Snap

Mechanical engineer turned digital marketer. Facebook Ad & Snapchat strategist. Owner of a high-end yo-yo company @clywcanada. Find me on Snapchat: clywcanada