Snapchat Adds “Share Username” Option

Iwona Gruszka
All Things Snap
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2016

Until today there were 5 ways to add friends in Snapchat.

Those 5 ways forced a user (you, me) to search for new friends on other social networks, to search for friends by their contact numbers, to simply take action.

Today, the Snapchat World has changed forever. Snapchat has introduced the “Share Username” option.

How it works:

“Share Username” allows the user to Share their Snapname via url. When the receiver opens the message on a mobile device, the sender is added to their Snapchat friends.

Advantages:

The option makes it easier new users to share their handle on other Social Media.
An url is easier to post on Twitter/Facebook/Websites

Why I am sceptical?

I am afraid that Snapchat will start losing its uniqueness if they start adding the features that are typical for other Social Networks. I agree, it is not easy at first to grasp how Snapchat works but once you get it, you start appreciating how different it is from what you had known before.

USE SNAPCHAT WISELY!!

Are we connected? If we are not, feel invited to join my SnapWorld. See you there!

--

--

Iwona Gruszka
All Things Snap

Welcome to my journal. Medium is a vehicle for personal thoughts and opinions I have on different topics that interest me. Many do :) www.iwonagruszka.com