Nanananananana Snapman! by mjh75

Snapchat: how to market to teens

My credentials? I’m 15, is that good enough?

Ishan Haque
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2015

--

To catch the attention of a typically teenager (extraterrestrial creature, commonly named ‘millennial’), the brand must create native marketing campaigns for the type of content they consume.

Steps

  1. Acquire a popular Snapchat influencer for the most effective ads rather than paying for endorsed stories or discover pages.
  2. Create a marketing campaign with the popular Snapchat influencer that involves user engagement such as ‘drawing contest’ or ‘screenshot decision maker’ (few I just made up then, get creative).
  3. Make sure the entire campaign isn’t too long, average attention span for a Snapchat story is max 80 seconds.
  4. Create suspense during the story until the end where to see other half of content, fans have to follow @(sponsored_brand).
  5. Once a person on Snapchat has followed an account, it’s highly unlikely they will unfollow unless the brand posts’ long irrelevant stories.

Example of an effective Snapchat marketing campaign created by me, myself and I in 2 minutes:

  1. Looked up the most followed and influential Snapchat influencers.
  2. Picked one called, ‘Shonduras’ because of his young audience and effective stories told by his art.
  3. Pretend I’m the company, ‘Coca-Cola’. I have the resources to pay this influencer to promote my product.
  4. The marketing campaign:
  • The story will consist a plot of finding a coke with the name, ‘Shonduras’ where the interest is him going on a journey around a city trying to find it.
  • Remember, native ads for the content they consume. Shonduras posts’ art-sy stories which he can incorporate drawings of some cool monster coke bottles chasing him on this journey.
  • Now, the user engagement. On his journey to find the ‘Shonduras’ coke, he arrives at an intersection where fans have a choice of either screenshotting or sending a snap through the form of text, photo or video e.g. Screenshot this snap if I should go right! or Send me a snap of a thumbs up if left or thumbs down if right! or Screenshot this snap if I should go right! or incorporate both tactics to measure engagement, Which way should I go? Screenshot this snap and send a drawing of an arrow to where I should go!

5. The fans were watching, then engaged and consumed. Now the build of suspense has came into place. Perfect time to convert the fan into the promotion, for example, ‘to see which direction I went, add @CocaCola’.

6. Then on Coca-Cola’s Snapchat, the story continues but when he get’s to the store, they don’t have any with his name. He then finds that he can order his name from www.cocacola.com/name-your-coke.

What did you think of that? A simple, short but effective endorsement on Snapchat executed accordingly.

Tweet me @IshanHaq on what social media platform I should do next! Vine? Instagram? Facebook?

Please recommend if you enjoyed this post. Share this to your friend, lover, uncle, grandma, ex-pet and such.

--

--