What I Learned From A Recent Geofilter Failure

Matt from Geofilt
All Things Snap
2 min readJun 15, 2016

--

I had it all figured out.

Some catchy, viral, simple text. A VERY high-traffic location. Rush hour time slot.

This was going to be my most successful geofilter yet. I even had the data to back it up.

The research said Union Square ranked #1 in “Stations With The Most Turnstile Exits During Peak-ish Hours on Weekdays.” I thought by targeting that area during the morning commute, I could reach a massive audience with my geofilter advertisement.

Boy was I wrong.

It turned out to be the worst campaign I’ve ever seen. Less than 10 uses. Less than 200 views. A total flop. F minus.

So what went wrong? I misread my data. I mistook quantity for quality. But, it wasn’t a total loss.

Why? Because I LEARNED from it.

I learned that an area being high-traffic is not compelling enough for geofilters. Why? Because the location also has to be “share-worthy!” People at Union Square at rush hour are commuting. They’re not hanging out, they’re not bragging about their location. They’re getting in and out as soon as possible so they can reach their destination.

Does this mean I’ll never target Union Square again? Definitely not. But a different approach is needed.

Example: on the weekends the Union Square Green Market is filled with a much different demographic. Not commuters, not passers-by. The people there on weekends are there to shop, to meander, to socialize. It’s still an extremely viable location, but it’s all about how you frame it.

I tried to target the commuters and failed. Next time, I’ll target the green thumbs, and farm-to-table foodies with a nice earthy geofilter, on a weekend afternoon, and I predict I’ll see much better results.

Experimentation is major aspect of success on Snapchat. Not every campaign is gonna be a home run. But every campaign will help you further your knowledge of your target audience and location. Whether you succeed or fail, you must learn.

Do not hesitate to contact me with your questions or thoughts. I respond to every email I receive. Usually within an hour (but no promises).

Until next time,
Matt

matt@geofilt.com

www.geofilt.com

--

--

Matt from Geofilt
All Things Snap

Writes about Snapchat, graphic design, & digital marketing. Founder of Geofilt: specializing in geofilter campaigns for events & businesses. www.geofilt.com