Providing Therapy in the Digital Era: My Story

Jennifer Thake MA MA PhD
Snapclarity
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2018
Jennifer Thake, Lead Clinical Consultant at SnapClarity

When Terri Storey, the founder of SnapClarity, first approached me about providing therapy via an online setting, I was hesitant and almost rejected the idea (don’t tell her I said that).

My initial resistance was largely because I was scared that I would be unable to build client-therapist rapport in a virtual setting. I pictured the interactions to be awkward, easily misinterpreted, and non-therapeutic. I also pictured my video feed freezing my face in some unflattering ways for too long. I now know I am not alone in my fears. I have heard these concerns from other mental health providers (okay maybe not the face-freezing fear).

But I have realized that the way in which we communicate is changing.

I find myself texting my family and friends when I am in distress, “googling” life hacks, and “connecting” with strangers around the world by relating to their memes, posts and (mostly cat) videos. I also want to communicate when I want to communicate. Traditional business hours do not seem to cut-it anymore. If I want to discuss the nuances of my banking at 10pm, then I would like that possibility. These demands for more digital and faster connections is coming from someone who is NOT tech-savvy (What is my email password again?). So the fact that I am noticing changes in the way I communicate as a result of the digital era, suggests to me that everyone else is noticing this to a much greater degree.

In my counselling-training, I repeatedly heard from professors and clinical supervisors to “meet clients where they are at”. This made a lot of sense to me when it came to meeting clients where they are emotionally, cognitively and behaviourally; however, it only recently occured to me that this includes meeting them where they are at — literally. And when I say literally, I mean online, not their house (boundaries!) If clients are also noticing a change in the way they communicate, then I should recognize and begin to adapt to these changes.

I am now okay with this. I have drank the online therapy kool-aid because I have learned ways to support clients, built rapport, but still keep professional limits.

Jennifer Thake, Lead Clinical Consultant at SnapClarity

Other therapists have also recognized that the venue for therapy is changing and have made great strides when comes to considering the benefits and challenges of online therapy. Challenges can be largely overcome by ensuring client privacy via a secure platform, engaging in training in the provision of online therapy to better overcome communication barriers, and staying abreast on the newest research on benefits and contraindications of online therapy. The research base is growing that highlights positive effects of therapy delivered via a digital platform. I intend to summarize and share with you the results of some of these articles I run into.

Is online counselling for all therapists and all clients? Nope. Some of both parties will prefer the face-to-face setting. Online therapy does not aim to replace traditional therapy. Furthermore, I still believe that, at times, face-to-face is arguably necessary. However, if a client believes they can benefit from online therapy, then I am willing to meet them where they are at (even if it does interrupt the cat video I am watching).

--

--