Meet the team: Emily, our Digital Marketing Intern

Bethany | Snap Out
SnapOut
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2019

At Snap Out, there’s little we love more than getting to know people. After all, it’s what we do! As a user research consultancy, we spent most of our days learning about what individuals want, need and even their unconscious habits so that we can create incredible prodcuts that serve them.

So, basically, we’re professionals at being nosey!

That’s why we couldn’t resist asking our incredible new Digital Marketing Intern, Emily, some questions to get to know her better.

Emily will be working at Snap Out for the next 8 weeks, learning the ropes of social media and digital marketing whilst completing her MSc in Marketing Management. Her creative and strategic input is already playing an important role in our team.

Firstly, tell us about your studies and career so far before joining the Snap Out team.

I graduated from the University of Surrey back in 2014 with a degree in Sociology, Culture and Media. Since then I’ve spent most of my time working in the Automotive industry in various administration roles. Then last October I made the decision to go back to university in a bid to build the foundations for a career in Marketing and am just over halfway through completing a Masters in Marketing Management.

Why did you decide to apply for the digital marketing internship at Snap Out?

I was looking for internships so as to have had some work experience within Marketing before graduating as my career so far has been in unrelated roles. Then when I came across the Snap Out internship I was particularly interested as I loved the idea of what they do; it makes so much sense to me that we would design our innovations around the end users, and yet to my best knowledge it seems there are still many areas in which this is not the case, so I think it’s great that Snap Out are here to help!

What’s one quote that you try to take with you throughout your life?

The only constant in life is change.

What job did you want when you were a child?

I remember wanting to be a hairdresser only because I was always obsessed with playing with and styling my friends’ hair (I imagine at the time I didn’t realise there was a bit more to being a hairdresser than just this!).

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

A successful marketer!

Which emerging technology most interests you?

I particularly love the use of digital technology in healthcare which seems to be on the up at the moment; what better way of using new technologies than to help improve and save lives?

What’s your favourite thing about Snap Out so far?

I’ve been made to feel so welcome within the team, and am already learning so many new skills and tools which I know will help me in the future.

Tea or coffee?

Tea! Always tea, it fixes everything.

What’s your favourite social media channel and why?

I would say probably Instagram, mainly because that’s the one I’m most guilty of spending hours scrolling through. I like that it’s only pictures, the layout is nicer on the eye.

Cats or dogs?

Cats…I’m actually scared of dogs, much to my friends’ amusements!

Where do you work from?

I work from home at my Mum’s house currently…I rented out my flat to enable my return to university. I’ve set myself up a little office here!

The Snap Out Team 🚀

--

--

Bethany | Snap Out
SnapOut

Research writer at Snap Out, a Market and User Research Consultancy based in Milton-Keynes.