Visual interfaces for visual people

Joshua Beitler
Snapspot
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2017
Photo spot card

As with most apps, Snapspot has taken a variety of different forms on its journey to 1.0. At first, I used a large and cluttered tile based view, which felt horrible to use. Then I tried a map, which seems nice in principle, but didn’t work for discovery at all. In an effort to make the app more simple, the design retreated to a less visual list based interface.

Lists work great for a lot of things, but as it turns out they don’t work well for a highly visual app like Snapspot. Perhaps the key realization I came to was that in order for the app to be really useful, a user should be able to quickly glance at a screen and get all the information they need to take great photos without having to dig through a ton of menus that only serve to get in your way.

Photographers are highly visual people, so their tools should be too.

One of the main reasons I didn’t want to look into using flashy photo-based cards is that I didn’t want to force users to have to take photos of their spots to add them. I remember one of the very first builds of Snapspot worked in this way, and when I took it out for a test drive the experience was disastrous.

I had a breakthrough when I was looking through the API documentation for Google Maps and realized that I could fetch photos for a massive variety of locations from Google themselves. I decided that these images combined with a simple map render for spots with no images would be a great way to add photos back into the app.

Google Maps has a massive amount of photos accessible through their API

After a weekend of work, I think I’ve come up with a nice solution for making Snapspot visual again. It’s a card-based layout, but an information dense one that spans two columns instead of a single one. Each card has the most helpful at-a-glance information: the spot’s name, distance to you, address, and any tags you may have assigned to it.

Additionally, the cards can be compacted and used in a horizontally scrolling view for showcasing different lists of spots, such as nearby spots, cool spots to explore, promoted spots, and more.

A visual app for visual people

These UI changes will help Snapspot work, look, and feel better, and I can’t wait for you to see them live. Be sure to follow this blog for more development updates like this, as well as http://getsnapspot.com for more information on the project.

--

--