A Student Guide to SNDCLT

Aviva Loeb
SNDCampus
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2017

Going to SND’s annual workshop as a student is an exciting and nerve-wracking experience. It’s easy to feel intimidated in a room full of professionals. But there’s no need to. Attending the annual workshop as a student in 2014 and 2015 helped me jumpstart my career, gain confidence in my work and find mentors in the industry. It was at SNDDC that I met Tracy Collins, who offered me a job a year later at the Gannett Phoenix Design Studio.

Here are my tips on how to make the most out of the weekend.

Introduce yourself to everyone

Sitting next to someone in a session? Introduce yourself. Standing in line for a drink? Turn around and say hi to the person behind you. Meeting people is the first step to expanding your network. Don’t be afraid to go up to speakers after their presentations. If there’s a large crowd around them immediately after their sessions, find them later when they’re less busy.

Bring and collect business cards

Business cards are a great way to help people remember who you are after the conference, and an easy way for you to follow up via email with anyone you met and want to keep in touch with. Ask everyone you meet for a card and offer them one in return. The conference goes quickly and by the end, you’ll have a stack of cards to help you remember everyone you met and talked to.

Reach out to fellow students

My first SND experience was at SND Frankfurt as a junior in college. I didn’t know anyone else who was going and didn’t want to stay by myself in Frankfurt for the week, so I reached out to the only other girl on the list of travel grant winners, Ellen Collier, and asked if she wanted to be roommates. I ended up staying with her and two of her classmates, Stephanie Redding and Adam Baumgartner. Having a buddy helped make networking less intimidating and they were great about pointing out people I should meet. Outside of the conference, I had people with whom I could hang out and explore the city. Three years later, I’m still good friends with them and we get together whenever we’re in the same city.

Show off your work

During the student day you’ll have an opportunity to have your work critiqued by a professional. Definitely take advantage of this opportunity — but don’t stop there! If a professional doesn’t have someone sitting with them during a round of critiques, ask if they can look at your work. I was able to get five critiques at SNDDC just by asking around. You also don’t have to stop at student day. If you meet someone during the conference whose feedback you would find valuable, ask if they have time to look at your work. It helps to bring it on a tablet or laptop so you can easily pull up up examples if they say yes. Don’t forget to send them a follow up thank you email for looking at your work.

Don’t skip the networking events and don’t only talk to your friends

The conference doesn’t end after the sessions are over. Opening and closing receptions are great places to meet new people and make connections. If you attend, don’t cling to your friends all night. It’s ok to use the buddy system if you need to, but don’t be afraid to walk around and mingle on your own.

Tweet!

Twitter is my favorite platform for networking. It’s a great way to share your thoughts during the conference and connect with other designers. I’ve introduced myself so many times at various SND events by saying, “Hi, I’m Aviva, we follow each other on Twitter.” Use #sndclt to join the conversation.

Students, did you know you can join the Society for News Design for as little as $5 a month?

--

--

Aviva Loeb
SNDCampus

Designer for the Washington Post and Membership Director for SND.