Interns: Journalism ain’t dead and neither is this lady

Maureen Langley
SNDCampus
Published in
3 min readJul 2, 2018

Hi ya’ll. This week we’ve got mistakenly dead people, a spelling bee, eco-friendly products, and our beloved Mister Rogers.

More kids!

I am now a professional at interviewing children.

After covering the local school corporation’s last day of school, I soon got assigned to another story kind of related to the 50th anniversary of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood.

A few area churches of different faiths came together with their children and built home, shops, restaurants, etc. out of cardboard boxes and painted them up.

The kids were super cute and it was great to see how people of different faiths can come together. It was of those easy-to-do feel-good stories that is a nice break from other reporting.

Bzzz it’s the bee

I got to cover the Scripps National Spelling Bee! Ok. Part of it.

One of the local middle school kids got to compete in the bee and for a 14 year old, this dude was pretty cool. I talked to him and his mom and found out that he’s also published a couple New York Times crossword puzzles and is the youngest kid ever to do that.

These type of kids bring hope for humanity.

Indiana loves Limestone

The area I live in is famous for limestone. We’re crazy about it and celebrate it and name a whole bunch of things after the rock.

To be fair, it is cool that the Lincoln memorial, pentagon, Rockefeller center and the Empire State building is made out of a little piece of Indiana.

Definitely not famous, but the Bloomington court house is made of limestone as well.

Bloomington celebrates Limestone Month in June so I got to do a roundup of all the events going on, talk to a historical preservation expert and talk to some geologists.

I also kind love rocks and definitely love science so anything up that alley is fun to do.

SAVE THE SEA TURTLES!

Some background info: I love saving the environment.

I noticed a lot of people have been using metal and paper straws lately. Of course National Geographic launched their Planet or Plastic? issue as well.

So I pitched to my editor a story about finding restaurants in Bloomington that have ditched plastic materials for more friendly substitutes. I found a couple restaurants and talked to them about how they’re trying to find ways to be environmentally friendly through their businesses.

One bar even started using Hay! straws, which is something I’ve never seen before. I think covering something that’s not only important, but interesting to you makes doing your job a whole lot more fun.

--

--

Maureen Langley
SNDCampus

Designer / Student / Bad Art Maker / You name it