Have You Heard of Gel Crayons?

The 1980’s introduced me to many transformative experiences. My family moved to Germany, I back-packed Europe and rode a boat down the Nile but before any of that came the experience Mr. Sketch Scented Markers.

April Bair
SNED
2 min readAug 8, 2017

--

Mr. Sketch Scented Gel Crayons front and back of package.

Aromatic markers were cutting edge technology. It was a real treat when my fourth grade classroom got a set. Good students were allowed to draw with them on Thursday afternoons while the teacher read around from books like Trumpet of the Swan. The room filled with the artificial smell of red cherry and green mint.

Scented Gel Crayons caught my eye at Giant Food while I was searching for festive napkins.

Curiosity about “gel” crayons combined with happy memories of smelly markers couldn’t be resisted so I made the impulse purchase.

What Gel markers are I can’t really tell you. Several minutes of Google searching revealed that this new type of crayon is available from several brands and advertised as “buttery” and “smooth” feeling.

They do glide across both paper and poster boards and the scent is as wonderful as the original markers but the green is green apple instead of mint.

I doubt I’ll buy them again unless they sparkles but it was fun and something new!

--

--

April Bair
SNED

As an opinionated behaviorist writing her way through life April is consistently distracted by the odd and off beat moments we usually try to ignore.