Modern Hotel Keys

April Bair
SNED
Published in
1 min readJan 18, 2020

Hotel rooms were once locked with mechanical locks opened by metal keys. I haven’t seen one of those in years.

At some point the keys were replaced by magnetic keycards and then sliding keycards gave way to RFID cards which we just place neR the touch point and viola! Lights flash and the door unlocks!

I’m sure wrist fab hotel keys aren’t the newest thing in hotel security but this is the first time I’ve had one so it’s new to me.

Something New EveryDay (SNED) makes life better and today I got a brilliant blue silicon wristband that opens my room door. This solves the question of what to do with the key when I go swimming.

Follow SNED and check out April Bair and Bair Ink on Facebook.

--

--

April Bair
SNED
Editor for

Releasing stories into the world is a passion that takes many forms. Find the story you need. Share your journey. Join mine!