Is Snow An Excuse?

Ericka Solomon
Snow Day 2018
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

Everyone loves snow days, but what do we actually do that makes snow days so fun?

SUNY Oswego Student Amanda George explains that snow days are not as exciting as they seem.

“Mentally it’s an excuse not to do things,” said George.

Students at SUNY Oswego have come to expect a lot of snow every winter. However, the snow may not be as bad as everyone claims.

“It’s not as bad as everyone says it is or at least I haven’t seen it myself in the years I’ve been here,” George said.

However, many students would still prefer it to be much warmer.

“I’d much rather it be 70 and sunny,” George said.

If you are looking for warm weather, Oswego is not the place for you.

The snow may look beautiful, but walking through it is the worst part for many students including George.

“Physically I probably could just walk through it and do stuff, but I tell myself I can’t because of the snow or I don’t want to because of the snow,” George said.

The bus system on campus is one way to get places without dealing with much snow.

George lives in The Village on the SUNY Oswego campus which is far from her job as a desk attendant in Riggs Hall.

“I take the bus so I don’t have to drive or walk in it much,” George said.

Despite the busses, is it the snow that keeps students in their dorms, or is it because we really do not want to face the weather.

--

--