Surprise Snow Day at Oswego

Julia Tilley
Snow Day 2018
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

At approximately 11:33 a.m., SUNY Oswego students were elated with the news of class cancellation, something that rarely ever happens on campus.

“I am a junior, and classes have only been cancelled once to my recollection,” said Kassadee Paulo, putting on her coat to face the snow, “I was originally very frustrated because all of the surrounding areas, like the public schools, have gotten cancelled, but Oswego stayed open.”

With her snow day, Paulo plans to catch up on work and “take a nap and hunker down,” as she detests snow.

“Which is, of course, a great reason why I came here,” she joked.

A winter storm warning has been issued to the surrounding Oswego areas, and will be in affect until 4:00 a.m. Thursday. The anticipated period of heaviest snowfall will take place mid-afternoon Wednesday, which is a possibility as to why SUNY Oswego decided to cancel classes and extra curricular activities.

It is advised that drivers stay off the roads if possible, but if travel is necessary, to use extreme caution.

“My boyfriend is supposed to drive to campus today, and the roads make me nervous due to the weather, ” Paulo said. “I really hope that everybody drives safely and keeps warm.”

Students have been scrambling to make it back to their dorms before the snow gets heavier, filling out from academic buildings and Penfield Library, which too is shutting down at 12:00 p.m.

“Now that I got the email that afternoon classes have been cancelled, I feel relieved,” Paulo said, exiting Lanigan Hall and going off into the snow.

--

--