Winter storm slams central New York

Leah Wolf
Snow Day 2018
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

Central New York is being hit by extreme weather this Wednesday. Schools and colleges alike have cancelled classes.

By noon, the majority of school districts had closed, and SUNY Oswego cancelled all classes beginning after 12.

“I was honestly pretty excited to not have classes. I didn’t know how I was going to get to them, since I live off campus,” said SUNY Oswego junior Erica Wong, who lives on John street in Oswego.

“I was pretty worried. I don’t have a car,” Wong said.

Other students expressed discomfort with going to class as well.

“I didn’t want to have to skip, but I live off campus and didn’t want to risk my life coming in,” said senior Jessica Bullock.

Although classes were cancelled by the schools, many professors cancelled morning classes as well. Wong said that none of her housemates had classes in the morning.

The winter weather is supposed to continue into tomorrow, according to News Channel 9. As of right now, no schools have preemptively closed.

Despite the fact that classes were cancelled after noon at SUNY Oswego, some students still had class at 11:30.

“I literally just got to my class. He didn’t want to let us go because my class starts at 11:30,” said junior Kourtney Steele. She was eventually let go from class early.

“I’m just glad they cancelled,” Bullock said. “Otherwise I would be driving back in the dark and I don’t have snow tires.”

--

--