Streams on my KEXP Data Warehouse

Photo by Author with the Never Summer Wilderness in the Background

Introduction

I enjoy integrating my love of music into my professional development, so when I get the chance, I listen to KEXP and work on a personal data warehouse I have in Snowflake. So this quiet Sunday morning, I am lucky to learn streams while tracking the fantastic show: Preaching the Blues with Johnny Horn.

You might have seen the New Music Through Data Analytics post if you've read my blog before. The data here is from that project; you can set it up by following that article.

About Streams

The art of capturing and processing only changed data is a core feature of efficient data pipelines. Snowflake streams show changes on a table and allow pipelines to process data efficiently.

Creating Streams on Existing Tables

Streams on Tables

Snowflake recommends having a unique stream for every consumer, so I create a table stream on my KEXP Radio Show import table.

create or replace stream STAGE.STREAM_IMPORT_KEXP_SHOW_CCD
on table STAGE.IMPORT_KEXP_SHOW;

create or replace…

--

--