So, I got a CR-48

Nathan Snyder
Snyder Snippets
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2015

On Thursday, I had a package at my door. I had no idea what it was, but I knew that it was addressed to me, so I opened it. And what to my wondering eyes should appear, but a diagram on a box, and a guinea pig so dear. At this point, I knew what it was. I had seen this post a week or so before. Like any good blogger, I raced for a camera to photograph the unboxing, while simultaneously yelling that I had a Chrome OS notebook. I’ll save the review for later, but some initial impressions now.

It’s a beautiful piece of hardware for the most part. Sleek, unbranded, matte black. The keyboard is standard but for that search key instead of a caps lock key. Oversized Apple-esque trackpad. A button itself. Only a video port on the side seems out of place and a bit unnecessary. As soon as I inserted the battery and opened the lid, it turned on. I’ve timed it at approximately 14 seconds. If you close the lid, it automatically sleeps and wakes up near instantly, perhaps a half second delay. Probably less. Quick setup, you sign in to your Google Account, take a picture on the built-in webcam and you’re in.

The sleekness is particularly impressive, no branding, no stickers, nothing. Pure simplicity, a simple experience.

Full review later, but enjoy a few pictures until then!

Opening the Box

The box. Fittingly, it had a guinea pig on it. Also, I fortunately did not need the assembly directions.

Laptop in original packaging
Clean, sleek and beautiful
Laptop battery in bubble wrap. Also, charge cord is partially visible at bottom

Originally published at blog.snydern.com on December 19, 2010.

--

--

Nathan Snyder
Snyder Snippets

Christian, Student, Runner, Geek. Love GOD, Love People! Student at Grove City College.